Chocolate Chip & Chunk Cookies

The most adaptable cookie recipe on the World Wide Web.  It’s never once failed but MAKE SURE YOU CHILL THE DOUGH. I write it in capitals because I’ve given this recipe to so many people who complain their cookies went flat. When I ask if they put the dough in the fridge for a while they say ‘did I have to?’ .. you’ve answered your own question really.

It’s an American recipe so it’s in cups and ounces, I’ve converted it but I just stick to the American measurements when I make them because I don’t quite trust conversions. I feel it’s a bit like translating from another language and it’ll never be quite the same.

  • 3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) soft unsalted butter  (170g)
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar (150 g)
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
( 60g)
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 tsps vanilla extract
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
(150g)
  • 1 cup bread flour (150g ) (all-purpose flour may be substituted and used exclusively in place of bread flour)
  • 2 teaspoons cornflour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 6 ounces (175g) semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 6 ounces (175g) bittersweet or dark baking chocolate, chopped into chunks

I quite like adding white chocolate chips or bits of caramel too. Really the dough is so versatile you can stick chunks of any chocolate bar in and you’ll get fantastic cookies every time.

Beat the butter until it’s smooth and creamy

Add the sugars and beat until creamed

Add the egg and vanilla extract, beat until the mix is pale and fluffy

Add the flours, bicarbonate and salt and mix until combined – sometimes I use a wooden spoon and sometimes I just whisk, I do find the whisk brings the dough together better.

Add the chocolate chips or whatever you’ve chosen to add to the dough. Again I beat them in quickly because it distributes them more evenly than I do by hand and it’s quicker.

Image

Scoop out tablespoons or ice cream scoops of dough – I’ll leave the cookie size to your discretion. I make about 30 but the original recipe says about 24.

Roll the dough into balls and place on a piece of greaseproof paper on a plate/baking tray/ I often use a Tupperware box.

CHILL THE DOUGH BALLS for a couple of hours,  I usually leave them for a  day. *At this point if I’ve made 30 dough balls I’ll probably be baking 25. I think I love eating the dough more than the finished cookies, just can’t resist. 

Bake at 180C for 8-10 minutes

Image

Raw cookie dough, yum.

The cookies will look very, very under done but that’s okay, they firm up. If you leave them longer they won’t be all chewy, just dry and biscuity. There’s nothing worse than biting into what you expect to be a nice soft cookie to be met with dry biscuit…

Let the cookies cool on the tray for 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack. Wait ‘til they’ve completely cooled before devouring them. They’re also really nice and even fudgier if you stick them in the fridge for a while.

Recipe from: http://www.averiecooks.com/2012/11/chocolate-chip-and-chunk-cookies.html

This blog is full of other recipes for more American treats like blondies, bars and if you’re a peanut butter fan there’s plenty that’ll take your fancy! There’s also amazing pictures of the finished cookies which, for some reason, I’ve failed to snap even though I’ve made them countless times!.

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip & Chunk Cookies

  1. Pingback: Hidden gem cookies | Bakingsane

Leave a Reply

