Halloween Pumpkin Cake

A little bit late but if you’ve still got left over pumpkin give this a go. 

Halloween in my house involved an awful lot of pumpkin carving and as a result, about 6 kilos of pumpkin flesh to work with. I attempted a soup but it was absolutely horrendous so there was dinner out the window. The only way to redeem my kitchen failures, and feed myself, was with a decent bake… Obviously. I had friends coming round so I didn’t eat the whole thing to myself but I had a sizeable chunk and it was good. Judging by the fact that, within a couple of hours only half of it was left between five of us I think it was a success.

Image

For the cake:

  • 200g butter
  • 4 eggs
  • Zest of 1 orange + 1 tbsp juice
  • 300g self raising flour
  • 300 g light brown sugar
  • 2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 3tsp mixed spice
  • 200g sultanas (original recipe says 175 but I love sultanas and went a bit overboard)
  • 500g raw, grated pumpkin

Preheat the oven to 160C and prepare a 30 x 20cm baking tray.

Melt the butter slowly in a saucepan and set aside.

Weigh out the dry ingredients into a large bowl and mix it up evenly.

Break the eggs into a bowl and break up the yolks lightly before beating in to the cooled butter along with the orange zest and juice.

Add the wet mix to the dry ingredients and mix with a wooden spoon to just combine.

Add the pumpkin and again mix until just combined.

Cook for approximately an hour. The cooking time depends on the moisture in the cake. Some of my pumpkin was pretty much puree and some wasn’t, I also had extra sultanas in there and my tin was 25 x 25 so my cake took about 1hr 10 mins total.

Once the cake is done allow it to cool in the tin (10 minutes) before turning onto a wire rack. Prick the cake all over and pour over the remaining orange juice, save a tablespoon or so for the icing.

Image

Tips:

 Check the cake after 30 mins and if it’s already browning on the top, but still wet inside, cover it with tinfoil to prevent it getting too dark.

Let your cake cool for a good ten minutes in the tin before attempting to turn it onto a wire rack, it’s so moist it’ll easily fall apart.

Don’t attempt to cut the cake until it’s completely cooled. I was far too anxious to see if it had worked and tried a little corner slice.  It was so soft I just sort of mutilated the side of the cake. Rest assured, it doesn’t stay mush!

Orange cream cheese frosting:

The cake really doesn’t need icing, all the pumpkin and sultanas mean it’s really moist already but fruity cakes and citrusy cream cheese frosting are always a winning combination.

I used the same recipe as I did for the banana butterscotch cake but used orange juice and zest instead of lemon

Again, I used half the quantity and had more than enough to cover the cake.

  • 200g cream cheese
  • 50g butter
  • 100g icing sugar
  • 2 – 3 tbsp orange juice
  • zest of an orange

Beat the butter sugar, orange juice and zest with half of the cream cheese until smooth.

Add the rest of the cream cheese and beat until smooth, not too long or the icing will go runny.

Spread generously all over the cake.

Image

Original recipe from : http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/4777/halloween-pumpkin-cake

Leave a Reply

