Raspberry Bakewell Tart

Image

I say a Bakewell tart but whether it actually baked well is debatable. I know a bad workman always blames his tools but there’s just something funny about the oven in this flat. I don’t think it’s ever the temperature it says it is on the dial! My pastry was beautifully short on the outside but the underneath, while not the most disastrous soggy bottom, wasn’t great. The filling was also slightly more dense than I expected.  That aside, it went down well with my flatmates so it can’t have been all bad.

Start with your pastry:

  •  250g sweet shortcrust pastry
  • (I only used 200 after trimming the excess)
  • Butter a 23cm tart tin
  • Roll the pastry to about 2mm thick
  • Line the tin with the pastry trimming any excess
  • Stick in the fridge for at least 30 mins Image

Tips:

I dusted a sheet of baking paper with icing sugar to roll out my pastry, but I’ve found that if well-chilled stickiness isn’t really a problem.

For the filling:

  • 200g caster sugar
  • 200g unsalted butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 50g self raising flour
  • 200g almonds
  • 100g raspberry jam
  • 50g raspberries
  • 50g flaked almonds (to scatter on top)

Cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy.

Add one egg and beat thoroughly

Repeat with the second egg

Add the flour and almonds and mix until just incorporated.

Putting it all together:

Take your pastry out of the fridge

Spoon the jam into the pastry case and spread evenly

Crush the raspberries lightly and scatter them over the jam (I made sure none of my raspberries were completely whole but there were some sizeable chunks)

Image

*I I love fruity pies or tarts so I was generous with my raspberries, about 100g more generous. Next time I try this perhaps I won’t be quite so generous with them, blaming my tools again but they could be contributing culprits to the soggy bottom!

Spoon the almond mix onto the jam and spread evenly

Scatter flaked almonds over the top and bake for 45 mins – checking at 30 minutes or so. Cover with tinfoil for the last 10-15 minutes of baking if the almonds look too toasted.

It took about an hour for a skewer to come out of my tart clean, and even then I’m not sure it was as done as it should have been. I’ll have to have another attempt in a trusted oven and let you know if it is just my baking skills that are to blame.

Allow it to cool in the tin before transferring it to a plate and dusting with icing sugar.

Image

3 thoughts on “Raspberry Bakewell Tart

  1. Pingback: Mince Pies | Bakingsane

  2. Pingback: Clementines tart | Sweet Bakes

  3. Pingback: Raspberry Almond Torte - Fresh Garden Living : Fresh Garden Living

Leave a Reply

