Bargain Banana Blondies

Image

I never come away from a market empty handed and when I heard bags of bananas going for 50p, well I was sold and so were the bananas, ha.  I call them Bargain Banana Blondies because for 50p I honestly got about 3 kilos of bananas. I didn’t worry about using them all up at all. I love forgetting about bananas, coming back to the bag and finding their mottled black and yellow skins absolutely perfect for banana cake. Any excuse to bake! This time I decided to try something new. We know everyone loves a brownie, they’ll never be beaten but blondies are still a bit of a novelty.  It doesn’t matter if your bananas weren’t a bargain these will still be sweet.

  • 200g white chocolate
  • 100g butter
  • 225g caster sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 250g chopped bananas (overripe, really overripe!)
  • ¼ tsp. baking powder
  • 225g plain flour
  • 100g dark chocolate, chopped

Image

Preheat the oven to 190C/170C fan

Melt the white chocolate and the butter gently over a low heat

Add the sugar, egg, vanilla and bananas then beat until the mix is smooth

Sift together the flour and baking powder and add your chopped chocolate then fold through the wet mix

*I didn’t chop up my chocolate too fine because then you just get yukky melty smears, mine were good sizeable chunks that held their shape while they baked.

Pour the mix into a prepared tin and bake in the oven for about 35 minutes. The top should be glossy and wobbly when you take them out.

Let them cool completely before you even attempt to cut them, they will be gooey!

Image

Depending on your taste you could switch the dark chocolate for milk, or white, some macadamia nuts would go well with white chocolate.  Next time I think I’ll try them with the banana caramel I used here.  Personally I think the dark chocolate is nice because it balances the sugary sweetness of the white chocolate and bananas… although I’d easily eat banana blondies full of caramel or white chocolate chips.

These were a big hit and my baking guinea pig enjoyed them so much she was inspired to make her own to take a to a friend’s Thanksgiving dinner. She reported back that there were good reviews all round.

Leave a Reply

