Date and ginger flapjacks

I spoke about them in my last post and this time I finally gave in.

In Peyton & Byrne’s Great British Baking they’re called ‘oaty date and ginger slice’ s… but they’ve got all the components of a flapjack, and they taste like the best flapjack I’ve ever had. So I call them flapjacks.

My friend and baking guinea pig was on her way over for coffee when I realised I had absolutely nothing to offer her. Not even a rich tea biscuit. I’d been keen to knock up some of these but knew that my self-control around them is absolutely zero so had been trying very hard to resist the urge. Long story short, I didn’t. Instead I only made ¼ of the amount, enough to offer a couple with coffee and have one for myself.

2014-01-09 15.03.48

This is the original recipe for the full quantity:

  • 180g butter
  • 6 tbsp golden syrup
  • 30g caster sugar
  • 100g dates
  • 20g fresh ginger
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 275g oats.

Melt the butter, sugar and golden syrup in a pan

Chop the dates up into bits and grate the ginger

Add the dates and ginger to the melted mix followed by the oats

Mix together then spoon into a 20 x 20 in pan (or whatever you’ve got, they don’t spread so you can shape them to a thickness you like if you’ve made less)

Bake for 30 mins at 180C

I quartered the recipe and added a teaspoon of treacle and slightly more dates and ginger. I really like dates and ginger.  Then I baked them for 10 minutes at 180C.

Image

Let the slices/flapjack cool before slicing, although we did have ours still slightly warm. They were delicious but more delicate to handle, plus the chew develops once they cool and these have just the right amount of crumble to chew ratio.

Leave a Reply

