Vegan Lemon Drizzle Cake

Sometimes baking doesn’t quite go as planned. If you’ve been watching the Great Sports Relief Bake Off you’ll know all too well what I’m talking about. For us everyday bakers not every moment is a Mary Berry one!

Image

Generally my birthday bakes are the standard crowd pleaser, chocolate. I’ve done carrot once and a black forest gateau but lemon drizzle AND vegan was a whole new venture.  I’d recommend not using rice milk for this, you’ll discover why further down this post. I’d also recommend reading about my mishaps before giving this one a go!

For the cake:

  •  250ml soya milk
(I used rice milk)
  • 2 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 250g plain flour
  • 2tsp baking powder
  • 200g sugar
  • 75ml vegetable oil
  • 
juice of one lemon
  • zest of two lemons

Preheat the oven to 180C

Grease and line a loaf tin with baking paper (DON’T use butter if you’re keeping this vegan)

Whisk the milk with the vinegar until it curdles, becoming thick (this didn’t happen for me and I would not recommend using rice milk for this recipe)

Grate the zest from the lemons and squeeze the juice of one into a separate bowl

Add the oil, lemon zest and sugar to the bowl with the lemon juice in it and mix well

Sift in the flour and baking powder and mix to combine

Pour the mix into the prepared tin and bake for 40 -50 mins until a toothpick inserted into the cake comes out clean.

LEAVE IT IN THE TIN.

Image

I was concerned from the off when the milk I was using didn’t curdle as the recipe stated it should (this is apparently what gives the cake a fluffy texture). A quick browse of the Internet informed me that rice milk doesn’t tend to curdle and get thick like soya, but rest assured the recipe would work.  I remained skeptical. Though my skepticism waned a little as I watched the cake rise spectacularly in the oven, it was soon to return.

For the drizzle:

  • 1 lemon
  • 75g caster sugar

Image

Mix the caster sugar and lemon juice in a bowl

Prick the cake all over with a toothpick (whilst still warm and in the tin)

Drizzle the lemon and sugar all over the cake

Leave the cake to cool in the tin for about 25 minutes then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

I was probably a little over-zealous with my poking holes into the cake. I didn’t have a toothpick so I used a knife and think I pulled too much causing it to collapse, never mind I covered that by drowning it in lemon icing as you can see below:

Image

Really I should have named this post ‘Lemon Drowned Cake’.

Image

The cake fell almost as spectacularly as it rose and looks more like a lemon brick.  The texture was quite dense, a little bit like fudgy lemon brownies, which I’ll attribute to the lack of curdling in my milk. I personally wasn’t very keen and wouldn’t attempt this again this with rice milk – I don’t think the fat content of it is quite right.  If you decide to try this, I hope you have more luck than I do!

Original recipe from:

http://heavenlyveganbaking.wordpress.com/tag/vegan-lemon-drizzle-cake/

One thought on “Vegan Lemon Drizzle Cake

  1. Pingback: Lemon Coconut Cookies « Keitochan Says:

Leave a Reply

