Lemon Cheesecake

Another birthday request! I was torn between a lemon drizzle and a lemon cheesecake. Having already attempted a vegan lemon drizzle I preferred my chances with cheesecake. This is another recipe from the BBC Good Food website, I added a little extra lemon and used my favourite lemon curd recipe for the topping.

Image

*I apologise in advance for the lack of pictures, I was having a phone crisis and my camera has packed in, the recipe is still worth a try though.

For the base: 

  • 225g ginger or digestive biscuits
  • 100g butter

Crush the biscuits until fine – I really hate a cheesecake base with big chunks, it’s distracting.

Image

Melt the butter and add the crushed biscuits

Press into the prepared baking tin and leave in the fridge while you prepare the cheesecake.

Image

Cheesecake:

  •  Zest of 3 lemons and juice of 2
  • 600g cream cheese (Philadeplhia)
  • 250g Mascarpone
  • 4 tbsp flour
  • 175g caster sugar
  • 2 eggs + 2 yolks

Juice and zest the lemons first.

Put all the ingredients in a bowl and whisk them together until well combines.

Spoon the mix over the chilled base and even it out.

Bake for 30 – 40 minutes, the cake should be slightly wobbly, a little bit like set custard.

Leave to cool at room temperature before placing in the fridge to cool further (overnight is good).

 

Lemon Curd

I used the same Lemon curd recipe as I did for my Jaffa Cake  in which I replaced the lemons with oranges.

  • Juice and zest 4 lemons
  • 100g butter
  • 200g sugar
  • 3 eggs + 1 yolk

Image

Whisk the lemon juice, zest, sugar and eggs over a pan of barely simmering water for about 10 minutes.

Add the butter a cube at a time and whisk continually until thickened (approx. 10 minutes, be patient!) the curd should have a custard like consistency and feel heavy on the whisk.

Allow to cool before using. 

To finish:

  • 284ml pot sour cream
  • 5 tbsp lemon curd

I was generous with my curd because I prefer it to sour cream.

Dollop the cream and curd alternately all over the top of the cooled cake.

Swirl the two together to create a nice effect, easily done with the tip of a knife or toothpick – try not to overswirl.

Image

This cheesecake is rich (with nearly a kilo of cream cheese how could it not be…) but refreshing, the lemon and sour cream tang are a nice offset to the thick creamy cake.

One thought on “Lemon Cheesecake

  1. Pingback: Lemon & Raspberry Cheesecake | Bakingsane

Leave a Reply

