Chewy Chocolate Cookies

Another great recipe to add to your cookie arsenal. These are a simple chocolate chip cookie with plenty of extra chocolatey bits. I like that they’re full of cocoa powder and have a bitter chocolatiness to them as well as a sugar hit. Image

I only chilled mine for a couple of hours and made quite small rounds, I wanted these to be thinner rather than thick though as I’ve not made thin chewy ones before and I love the texture of them.

You’ll need:

  • 115g butter (at room temperature)
  • 90g brown sugar
  • 90g caster sugar
  • 80g cocoa powder
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 125g flour
  • 1tsp milk
  • 2 – 3 tbsp milk
  • 200 – 300g chocolate add ins (chips, chunks, etc)

Cream the butter

Add the sugar and continue to whisk until light and fluffy

Whisk in the egg and vanilla essence

Image

Toss together the dry ingredients and add to the wet ones, whisk to combine – you’ll end up with a very thick dough.

Stir in the milk by hand and then fold through the chocolate chips.

Image

Leave to chill for 2 hours at least but the best results will come from dough chilled overnight.

Preheat the oven to 180C

Shape the dough into balls and place on a sheet of baking paper, flatten them a little bit and dot a few more chocolate chips into the top to make them look pretty if you like.

Cookie size is at your discretion, I made 23 but the original recipe says 16. Bake for 10 – 12 minutes depending on size, the smaller they are the less time they need.

Image

The cookie will seem completely underdone when you take them out, they’re not and that’s exactly how you want them to look. Let them cool and don’t even attempt to transfer them from the rack until they’ve had at least ten minutes to do so.

Image

Pour yourself a glass of milk and try not eat them all at once.

 

5 thoughts on “Chewy Chocolate Cookies

  1. I’ve been searching everywhere for a recipe that will make yummy cookies that can handle being posted interstate (express overnight delivery)… Do you think these would be able to handle the shipping and still be intact (and super yummy)?

  2. Hi Lynette, I’m glad you enjoy my recipes so much you want to post them! I’m sure these would survive. I’ve sent similar cookies and the red velvet oreo brownies in the post. I live in the UK so they won’t have been shipped, but I just packed them in tupperware boxes and made sure they didn’t have much wiggle room, then wrapped them tight and stuck the stamps on. Let me know if your friends get them in one piece, I hope so 🙂

    • I ended up making these the other day and all I can say is, ‘Wow!!!’ They’re PERFECT!!! So yummy, perfectly soft, just amazing! Thanks so much for sharing such a winning recipe (and they posted in the mail great too, apparently!).

  3. Pingback: Bad Blondies | Bakingsane

Leave a Reply

