Bad Blondies

The slutty brownie has been around the block once or twice already since it’s internet debut and while I know you shouldn’t mess with a good thing, I just couldn’t resist. Sometimes my attempts fail but sometimes I surprise myself with a glorious success. These blondes belong in the successes, along with the Jaffa Cake and the much appraised Banoffee Pie. The even naughtier version of the slutty brownie, these define gluttony.  A layer of dark chocolate cookie topped with biscuits and covered in chocolate chip blondie… I did say naughty

.Image

I wanted them to be aesthetically pleasing and not all beige. As a general rule beige is never a great colour for food, which is why I did a chocolate cookie layer. I was also concerned about the sugariness of them so some cocoa adds a nice rich constrast. That’s the same reason I added chocolate chips to the blondie batter. I often find blondies can be a little bit sickly without anything to break up their buttery sweetness.

Image

This recipe is easily adaptable. Use your favourite cookie/blondie/brownie recipes and whatever biscuits you please. Start by preheating your oven to 180C and greasing the pan (mine was about 9x9in)

 Chocolate cookie:

  •  115g butter
  • 90g brown sugar
  • 90g white sugar
  • 80g cocoa powder
  • 125g chocolate chips
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 egg
  • 2 – 3 tbsp milk
  • 100g chocolate chips
  • 100g white chocolate chips/chunks/ or I used a chopped bar because I had no chips to hand.

Image

Cream your butter until pale, add the sugar and continue to cream until fluffy.

Add the egg and vanilla extract and whisk to combine.

In a bowl mix together the flour, cocoa powder and salt, add to the wet ingredients and fold gently.

The mix will be really thick, I stirred more then folded until I couldn’t see any more powder.

Add the milk and then the chocolate chips/chunks. Image

You’ll have a thick sticky dough which is a bit tricky to spread but bakes gorgeously. Image

Let it sit in the fridge while you prepare the blondie batter.

Blondies:

  • 100g butter
  • 200g  brown sugar
  • 1tbsp vanilla essence
  • 1 egg
  • 125g flour
  • ½ tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 100g chocolate chips

Melt the butter gently in a bowl, you can do it in the microwave to save time and dishes.

Add the sugar and mix to combine. Image

Beat in the egg and vanilla and mix well.

Fold in the dry ingredients, until just combined – don’t overmix, the dough will be quite thick.

Fold in the chocolate chips.

Image

 

Now to put it all together:

Press your chosen biscuits into the cookie dough, I just got excited about putting everything together and so didn’t do it very uniformly. I filled any spaces with extra biscuit – waste not want not!

Image

Dollop the blondie batter onto the biscuits, and spread as evenly as you can over them. ImageImage

 

Bake for 25 – 30 minutes, a skewer should come out with a few moist crumbs but no raw batter.

Leave to cool completely before slicing them or the blondie will just be sludgy and messy.

 Image

Tip – when I’m cutting cakes with icing or things with different layers I wipe the knife with a wet cloth between slices so as they stay neat and you can see the layers.

Image

These are so bad they’re beyond good, these blondes will keep you coming back for more, and more, and more. Can you tell I love a cliche almost as much as I love alliteration.

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Bad Blondies

  1. Pingback: Vanilla White Chocolate Blondies | Cooking Is My Sport

  2. Pingback: Date Banana & Walnut Cake | Bakingsane

Leave a Reply

