Brownie Batter Caramel Sauce

I’m slowly beginning to learn that less is more, particularly in a kitchen. This total experiment didn’t quite work out according to plan mainly due to my enthusiasm to try EVERYTHING. I always get a bit too excited about creating new things and try incorporating too much or mixing different methods. What I’d intended to make was a chocolate caramel sauce and I’d hoped for a more silky texture. I think the condensed milk makes it more like banoffee caramel.

Regardless, it’s not all bad news. What I managed to create tastes exactly like brownie batter. I kid you not. Exactly. The combination of condensed milk and the chocolate make it deliciously thick and fudgy.

Image

I can imagine this being absolutely delicious dolloped (it doesn’t really drizzle) over ice cream… maybe ice cream and brownies if you’re really going for it.

This needs tweaking here and there but it goes something like this:

  • 100 g sugar
  • 30 ml water
  • 150 ml cream
  • ¾ tin condensed milk
  • 100g dark chocolate (chopped)
  • 100g butter

Heat the sugar and water until it starts to bubble, add the butter and bring to the boil.

Image

Add the cream and condensed milk, and let it bubble over a while stirring gently as it thickens slightly.

Image

Finally add the chopped chocolate, this will really thicken the sauce so if you want something runnier try using less.

Image

Image

Stir it to combine and then pour into jars to use as and when you please.

 

Image

Can you tell I’ve been on a peanut butter kick recently? I always eat it too quick to bake anything with it!

Simples.

Yes that spoonful in the picture above went straight in my greedy gob. I’m trying really hard not to do it again but I’m fighting a losing battle which means I’ll have to put it to use soon. Any further experiments will of course be appearing on the blog.

Enjoy!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

